BE IT REMEMBERED THE HENRY COUNTY COUNCIL OF HENRY COUNTY, INDIANA, met in regular session in the Courthouse Circuit Courtroom, in the City of New Castle, Indiana on Wednesday, January 24, 2018, at 3:30 P.M., with the following members present: Nate LaMar, Steve Dugger, Richard Bouslog, Mike Thalls, Robin Reno-Fleming, Clay Morgan, Patricia A. French, Auditor, and County Attorney Joel Harvey.

The meeting was opened with the invocation given by Mr. Morgan followed with the Pledge to the Flag by Mr. Dugger.

A motion was made by Mr. Bouslog and seconded by Mr. Morgan to approve the minutes from the December 27, 2017 regular meeting. Motion carried 5-0.

A motion was made by Mr. Morgan and seconded by Mr. Bouslog to approve the minutes from the Budget Workshops and the Public Hearing. Motion carried 5-0.

Mr. LaMar opened nominations for 2018 reorganization. A motion was made by Mr. Bouslog and seconded by Mr. Morgan to nominate Nate LaMar for President. A motion was also made by Mr. Thalls to nominate Steve Dugger for President. That motion died due to a lack of a second. A motion was then made by Mr. Bouslog to close the nominations, seconded by Mrs. Fleming. Mr. LaMar is selected President for 2018. A motion was made by Mr. Dugger and seconded by Mr. Thalls to nominate Robin Reno-Fleming for Vice President. A motion was then made by Mr. Morgan and seconded by Mr. Bouslog to close the Vice President. A motion was then made by Mr. Morgan and seconded by Mr. Bouslog to close the Vice President nominations. Mrs. Fleming will serve as Vice-President for 2018.

Discussion was held concerning dates and times for their monthly meetings. Mr. LaMar stated there were four Wednesday's that needed to be discussed due to conflicts. Those meetings were in March, due to Spring Break, May and October, due to the Auditor's Conference and December due to Christmas Break. Mr. Morgan made a motion to hold their monthly meetings on the 4<sup>th</sup> Thursday of the month beginning at 6:00 P.M. That motion died due to a lack of a second. A motion was made by Mr. Dugger and seconded by Mrs. Fleming to hold the monthly meetings on the 4<sup>th</sup> Wednesday of the month beginning at 3:30 p.m., except for March and December, which will be held the 3<sup>rd</sup> Wednesday and May and October when the meeting will be the 5<sup>th</sup> Wednesday of the month. Motion was carried 5-0.

Missy Modisett updated the Council on upcoming events, such as the Mayor's address on February 15<sup>th</sup> and the Annual Dinner to be held March 20, 2018.

Corey Murphy, EDC Director, updated the Council in regards to accomplishments in 2017. Mr. Murphy stated they completed 6 new projects creating 225 new jobs, acquiring \$200,000 in grant monies for the Brooks Drive project and the new Comprehensive Plan.

Mr. Murphy also discussed joining the Eastern IN Regional Planning Commission. The County would need \$21,400 to join the Commission. A motion was made by Mr. Dugger and seconded by Mr. Thalls to join the Commission with funding coming from Reclassification. Motion carried 5-0.

Mr. LaMar also stated the County had received their 1782 Notice for 2018.

A motion was made by Mr. Bouslog and seconded by Mr. Morgan to approve the transfer request from the Park, transferring \$1,140 from Building Materials to Computer Equipment. Motion carried 5-0.

A motion was made by Mr. Morgan and seconded by Mr. Dugger to accept the 2017 Sheriff's Annual and Commissary report as presented. Motion carried 5-0.

A motion was made by Mr. Morgan and seconded by Mr. Bouslog to accept the recommendations from the Health Department Director, Angela Cox for their 2018 budget. Motion carried 5-0. A motion was made by Mr. Bouslog and seconded by Mrs. Fleming to supplement their Public Health Nurse with grant funding. Motion carried 5-0.

Mr. LaMar informed the Council two different individuals were interested in serving on the Southwest District Ambulance Service Board of Directors. The two individuals were Catherine Eke and David Millhoan. A poll vote was taken. David Millhoan was selected by a vote of 4-2. Mr. Dugger. Mrs. Fleming, Mr. Thalls and Mr. Bouslog voted for David Millhoan and Mr. Morgan and Mr. LaMar voted for Catherine Eke. This appointment would be for a one year term.

Internal department appointments were also given to Council members. Mr. Dugger asked to be removed from the Job Classification & Salary Advisory Committee; Mrs. Fleming volunteered to take that position. Mr. Morgan was selected for the Park.

Mr. Bouslog asked the Council for some guidance regarding their plan for distribution of LOIT funding for township fire departments.

James Thurston, representing Mark Orr and Norma Dishman, discussed the moving of the Doughboy statue in the Memorial Park. He urged all involved to work together for the good of Henry County.

Richard Bouslog announced after 40 years he would not be seeking another term to serve on the Henry County Council.

A motion was made by Mr. Thalls and seconded by Mrs. Fleming to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried 5-0.

Nate LaMar, President	Steve Dugger, Vice President
Richard Bouslog	Michael Thalls
Robin Reno-Fleming	Clay Morgan
ATTESTED BY:	

Patricia A. French, Henry County Auditor